Winter Dunlin – Bonte Strandloper

When I took these shots an expert told me that they are winter dunlins. I believe him. All those little waders look very much alike to me, especially when they are in winter feathers. Moreover there are at least 10 subspecies of these dunlins, each of which is just a little bit different.

Ik heb me laten vertellen dat dit een bonte strandlopers zijn, maar al die strandlopertjes en pleviertjes lijken verschrikkelijk op elkaar. Zeker als ze in winterkleed zijn. En dan heeft deze soort ook nog 10 ondersoorten, die allemaal nét even iets anders zijn. Dus als iemand denkt het beter te weten, hoor ik het graag.
.

DSC_0183 . DSC_0176

6 responses to “Winter Dunlin – Bonte Strandloper

Leave a Reply

